eyelash cycle explained

there are 3 stages within the natural eyelash cycle


The growth phase

This phase can last from 4-10 weeks.

This is the stage where eyelashes begin to grow.

There are only a small amount of the lashes that will be in this phase at a time!

Your natural lashes are using your blood supply to fuel their growth during this stage to give your lashes the chance to grow to a certain length!


The transition phase

This phase can last from 2-3 weeks.

Your hair follicle shrinks and then detaches from your blood supply and then the natural lash stops growing.

This happens when the natural eyelashes have reached their designated lengths.

If an eyelash is disrupted during the catagen phase then it’ll take even longer to grow back, and in some cases, can cause permanent damage.


The resting phase

The final lash stage, which can last for up to 3 months.

The hair has stoppedgrowing and is preparing to shed and restart its cycle.

It is estimated around 50% of your lashes are in this phase at once, a baby hair grows inside the follicle and the natural lash rests until pushed out.

Eyelash Diameters And Thickness
EYELASH DIAMETERS AND THICKNESS HOW TO MAINTAIN HEALTHY NATURAL LASHES In this blog you will learn about the diameters of...
Understanding Lash Curls
understanding lash curls c curls C - for clients who want a 'natural look' commonly used for texture in sets...
Implementing Diversity and Inclusivity
implementing diversity and inclusivityas a lash artist As lash artists, we can sometimes get caught up in the norm of...
How To Turn Followers Into Clients
how to turn your followers into clients We all want to be fully booked, back to back with loyal clients...